Juno Daily

Music and tech news, interviews, features, reviews and more.

Visit Juno Daily

100% Sicheres Einkaufen

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

100% Sicheres Einkaufen

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ

Startseite  Labels  Albert's Favourites
Receive new release alerts for Albert's Favourites

Albert's Favourites

Browse the latest Vinyl & CD releases on Albert's Favourites
Similar labels:
BBE  |  Jazzman  |  Strut  |  Athens Of The North  |  Soul Jazz
Artikel 1 bis 8 von 8 auf Seite 1 von 1 anzeigen
Tresilian Bay
Cat: ALBFLP 07. Rel: 16 Sep 20
Broken Beat/Nu Jazz
  1. Blue Lias (5:03)
  2. In My Craft (feat Miryam Solomon) (4:20)
  3. Llew The Lion (4:14)
  4. Glas (4:17)
  5. Tresilian Bay (4:26)
  6. Risk Of A New Age (feat Miryam Solomon) (5:35)
  7. Afon Colhuw (2:42)
  8. Not Around (feat Miryam Solomon) (4:53)
 in stock $19.73
The Looking Glass
Cat: ALBF 7004. Rel: 06 Jun 18
Hip Hop/R&B
  1. The Looking Glass (feat Sarah Williams White - radio edit) (3:14)
  2. The Looking Glass (Julien Dyne remix) (4:12)
 in stock $10.29
Mosaic (heavyweight vinyl 12")
Cat: ALBF 1204. Rel: 17 Oct 18
Broken Beat/Nu Jazz
  1. Mosaic
  2. Transcoso
  3. Mariposa (6:44)
Review: Earlier in the year, we were full of praise for "Murmuration", the long-awaited debut album from James O'Keefe and Dave Koor's Expansions project. Famously, that album was recorded in just three days, with the duo and their musical collaborators managing to deliver a polished set despite its spontaneous, freeform roots. We're not sure if the three cuts on this follow-up EP were recorded in a similar manner, but they're certainly pleasingly loose, languid and live sounding. Check the title track "Mosaic", where impeccable jazz-funk electric piano solos ride jaunty bass and swinging live drum breaks, before tucking into the cascading jazz guitar solos, hushed drums and spacey chords of "Transcoso". Over on side B, "Mariposa" sits somewhere between the two A-side cuts, with spacey, stretched-out synth solos catching the ear.
Read more
 in stock $12.22
Modifications: Set 3
Cat: ALBF 1205. Rel: 14 Nov 18
Broken Beat/Nu Jazz
  1. Blame's On You Bruv (6:03)
  2. Glass Army (8:08)
  3. Modification 25 (The Modified Man Rap) (3:24)
  4. Hear Me Calling (4:38)
  5. Sergio Arpeggio (8:07)
  6. Love Rising From The Dark Abyss Of Sorrow (4:49)
Review: Since launching the Modified Man project in 2016, Adam Scrimshire and Dave Koor have yet to put a foot wrong. The genius of their collaborative releases is their ability to combine loose-limbed instrumental improvisations with dusty samples, cleverly manipulated beats and an acute sense of atmosphere. This third volume in the series rolls along in a similar way, flitting between skewed, straight-to-tape boogie-house ("Blame's On You Bruv"), solo-laden deep house dreaminess ("Glass Army"), intergalactic jazz-funk/broken beat fusion ("Here Me Calling"), smooth and loved-up grooves (the amusingly titled "Sergio Arpeggio") and becalmed, ultra-deep downtempo beats ("Love Rising From The Dark Abyss of Sorrow").
Read more
Gespielt von: ReeKee (Wrong Notes)
 in stock $11.11
Cat: ALBFLP 09. Rel: 14 Sep 21
Broken Beat/Nu Jazz
  1. Gratitude (4:47)
  2. Salvation (3:07)
  3. Assimilation (6:28)
  4. Flibbers (feat Hector Plimmer) (2:55)
  5. Djed (1:57)
  6. Beta (2:23)
  7. In Habit (6:27)
  8. Hymn (feat MettaShiba) (3:22)
  9. Saqqara (3:51)
  10. Yantra (2:58)
Review: Although short on vinyl releases - this, we think, is his first - Matthew Gordon has been making music as Pie Eye Collective for some time, releasing solo productions via digital platforms and contributing to Emma Thackray's WALRUS project. Gordon could well be a star in the making though because Salvation - his first full-length proper - is genuinely excellent. White rooted in broken beat, instrumental hip-hop and the hazier, slower end of UK bass, the album's appeal in part stems from the dreaminess of his electronic chords, the beauty of his synthesizer sounds, and the crackling haziness of the saturated tape sounds Gordon loves adding to productions. We're not quite sure where his sound sits, but the music on offer is genuinely brilliant. We await his next steps with keen interest.
Read more
 in stock $19.19
Next To Nothing
Cat: ALBFLP 06. Rel: 06 Nov 19
Broken Beat/Nu Jazz
  1. Next To Nothing (feat Ego Emma-Jean Thackray) (2:47)
  2. Sonnet 17 (feat Ego Ella May) (3:26)
  3. Still Here (4:42)
  4. Somebody Else (feat Andrew Ashong) (3:45)
  5. Tapeloop (1:38)
  6. Stack (feat Pie Eye Collective) (2:27)
  7. Before The Sun (feat Ego Ella May) (1:47)
  8. Step (6:53)
  9. Joyfulness (feat Alexa Harley) (3:34)
  10. Circle (3:22)
  11. 2 Minute Switch (feat Pie Eye Collective) (3:05)
  12. Wall Street (feat Andrew Ashong) (3:19)
  13. Communication Control (3:06)
Review: London beat-maker Hector Plimmer has a wide palette of influences - think off-kilter hip-hop grooves of Flying Lotus, contemporary jazz, British bass music, the soul-fired deep house of Theo Parrish and the jazz-funk influenced skip of broken beat - yet the music he makes is never cluttered, confused or needlessly eclectic. In fact, as this second album proves, he has a clear vision. Deep, soulful, warm and attractive, the set's 13 tracks are universally superb and come laden with vocals from a high-grade cast-list of guests including Andrew Ashong, Emma-Jean Thackray, Ella May and the Pie Eye Collective. It's one of those albums that will almost certainly be slept on, so do yourself a favour and don't let it pass you by.
Read more
 in stock $19.73
Next To Nothing Remixes
Cat: ALBF 1207. Rel: 13 Apr 21
Broken Beat/Nu Jazz
  1. Wall Street (feat Andrew Ashong - Matthew Herbert Street dub) (5:59)
  2. Joyfulness (feat Alexa Harley - Elkka remix) (5:15)
  3. Step (Daz I Kue remix) (7:18)
  4. Somebody Else (feat Andrew Ashong - Shy One remix) (5:01)
 in stock $11.39
Nothing Feels Like Everything
Cat: ALBFLP 010. Rel: 12 Oct 21
Broken Beat/Nu Jazz
  1. The Pile (feat Cleveland Watkiss) (8:07)
  2. Heron (feat Miryam Solomon) (5:27)
  3. In Circles (feat Idris Rahman) (4:09)
  4. I Hear You, I See You (feat Nat Birchall & Faye Houston) (4:35)
  5. Within Without (feat Jessica Lauren) (6:20)
  6. Boldly (feat Ursula Rucker) (4:36)
  7. Morning Affirmation (5:15)
  8. Love In Dreams (feat Idris Rahman) (5:53)
  9. Discussion (feat Eye Collective) (4:44)
Review: Adam Scrimshire's latest full-lenbth excursion - the Albert's Favourites founder's third in as many years, is an expansive, adventurous and entertaining affair, with a string of guest vocalists and musicians swinging by to lend a hand. After opening with a touch of Rotary Connection-inspired brilliance featuring Cleveland Watkiss ('The Pile'), Scrimshsire sashays between soft-focus, semi-acoustic soul ('Heron', featuring Miryam Solomon and the blissful 'In Circles' with Idris Rahman), breezy spiritual jazz ('I Hear You, I See You', with UK jazz royalty Nat Birchall and Faye Houston), becalmed ambient jazz (the Ursula Rucker-voiced 'Boldly') and a swathe of slick, decidedly laidback gems (see 'Morning Affirmation' and Pie-Eye Collective ambient collaboration 'Discussion').
Read more
 in stock $19.73
Artikel 1 bis 8 von 8 auf Seite 1 von 1 anzeigen


Release Date