100% Sicheres Einkaufen

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

100% Sicheres Einkaufen

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.Visit Juno DJ

Matthew Halsall

Artikel 1 bis 4 von 4 auf Seite 1 von 1 anzeigen
Inspirations (2xLP)
Cat: GONDLP 017. Rel: 30 Nov 17
  1. What The World Needs Now Is Love (5:43)
  2. Tryin' Times (5:25)
  3. Feeling Good (4:58)
  4. I Love Paris (5:54)
  5. Heaven & Hell (5:08)
  6. Dear Lord (7:18)
  7. Black Is The Colour Of My True Love's Hair (6:08)
  8. Deep River (6:10)
Review: When it was first released on CD earlier in the year, Inspirations caused quite a stir. Now available on wax for the first time, the album sees Los Angeles jazz singer Dwight Trible cover some of the songs and artists that shaped his formative musical years, with a little help from Manchester-based bandleader, arranger and trumpeter Matthew Halsall. Highlights include a rousing, near riotous cover of Nina Simone favourite "Feeling Good", a spiritual, harp-laden rendition of Hal David and Burt Bacharach's "What The World Needs Now is Love" - a radical departure from the original, featuring one of Trible's greatest vocal performances to date - and a poignant, heartfelt version of Leroy Hutson and Donny Hathaway's still relevant "Tryin' Times".
Read more
Gespielt von: Rikki Humphrey
 in stock $22.23
Cat: GONDLP 07. Rel: 19 Apr 18
  1. Cherry Blossom (7:22)
  2. Fletcher Moss Park (5:47)
  3. Mary Emma Louise (6:36)
  4. Sailing Out To Sea (1:31)
  5. Wee Lan (Little Orchid) (2:32)
  6. The Sun In September (7:50)
  7. Finding My Way (8:15)
 in stock $16.68
Cat: GONDLP 005. Rel: 02 Jun 16
  1. Music For A Dancing Mind (8:54)
  2. Song For Charlie (7:01)
  3. The End Of Dukkha (6:41)
  4. Samatha (9:13)
  5. The Journey Home (6:57)
  6. The Move (5:29)
  7. Only You (bonus track) (6:35)
  8. Singing Everyday (bonus track) (8:16)
  9. Breathless (bonus track) (6:58)
Review: Matthew Halsall is without doubt one of the brightest young talents in the British jazz scene. Since 2008, the man has been adding a fresh and playful tone to a very grounded musical genre, and at the same time carrying through the dynasty of jazz legends such as John Coltrane or Pharaoh Sanders. On The Go is his album from 2011, repressed this week by Gondwana Records, who have been very impressive since their first releases back in the mid 2000's, and the LP is one for the tasteful connoisseur. The mood is meditative and the air is smoky, where Halsall's trumpet travels gracefully across a space made up of striking piano solos, broken waves of drums, and an altogether peaceful sort of outlook.
Read more
Gespielt von: Rikki Humphrey
 in stock $18.53
Journey In Satchidananda (reissue) (12") (1 per customer)
Cat: GOND 12001. Rel: 23 Aug 18
Broken Beat/Nu Jazz/Nu Soul
  1. Journey In Satchidananda (6:44)
  2. Blue Nile (8:19)
Review: Manchester's Gondwana Records, run by Matthew Halsall, has been a constant source of good vibes and inspiration. Leaning on a jazz note, most of the material is centred away from the dance floor and yet there is always plenty of movement and joyous rhythm, particularly from Halsall's appearances. Here, we have a reissue of 2015's "Journey In Satchidananda", a majestic wave of jazz flutes, seductive piano keys, in what is an altogether dreamy sort of setting, which is further evolved on the supremely euphoric waves of the unbeatable "Blue Nile". At last, some contemporary jazz on 12" that has left us blown away..!
Read more
 in stock $9.27
Artikel 1 bis 4 von 4 auf Seite 1 von 1 anzeigen


Matthew Halsall
Release Date