Juno Daily

Music and tech news, interviews, features, reviews and more.

Visit Juno Daily

100% Sicheres Einkaufen

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

100% Sicheres Einkaufen

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices. Visit Juno DJ

Startseite  Artists  Jeff Mills
Receive new release alerts for Jeff Mills


Browse the latest Vinyl & CD releases by Jeff Mills
Similar artists:
Artikel 1 bis 6 von 6 auf Seite 1 von 1 anzeigen
Tomorrow Comes The Harvest
Cat: 677863 0. Rel: 26 Sep 18
Broken Beat/Nu Jazz/Nu Soul
  1. Locked & Loaded (7:46)
  2. Altitudes (7:03)
  3. On The Run (8:07)
  4. The Seed (7:11)
Review: Back in 2016, legendary Afrobeat drummer Tony Allen approached techno pioneer Jeff Mills with the idea of working together. A series of live gigs and off-the-radar studio sessions followed, with the first fruits of their joint efforts finally appearing on this must-have 10". As you'd expect, the duo's collaborative work combines Allen's traditional Nigerian polyrhythms, traditional Afrobeat instrumentation, and the far-sighted, sci-fi inspired electronic futurism that has always marked out Mills' work. The result is a quartet of cuts that could arguably be described as retro-futurist Afro-tech - all delay-laden beats, basslines and organs subtly sparring with gentle acid lines, Motor City electronics, beguiling deep space textures and shimmering, 31st century motifs. It's arguably Allen's stylistic contributions that dominate, but that's no bad thing.
Read more
 in stock $13.67
The Clairvoyant
Cat: AX 097. Rel: 02 Mar 21
  1. The Seance (5:06)
  2. Pseudoscience (7:00)
  3. Remote Viewing (5:31)
  4. Someone Who Feels Things (5:32)
  5. Calling All Loved Ones (5:15)
  6. Shadow With A Golden Aura (5:01)
  7. Wait, I Feel A Presence (4:43)
  8. Three Signs From The Other Side (First Sign) (4:51)
  9. Three Signs From The Other Side (Second Sign) (5:33)
  10. Three Signs From The Other Side (Third Sign) (5:06)
  11. Questions, Decisions & Consequences (7:03)
  12. The Feeling Anything Is Possible (4:55)
  13. Dancing Shadows (6:18)
  14. Ganzfeld Experiments (5:14)
  15. The Spirit World (4:32)
Review: Detroit techno legend Jeff Mills has suggested that his new conceptual opus should be experienced in isolation, free of noise and visual distractions and listened to in its entirety. Like its name may suggest, The Clairvoyant has an arcane, mystical and somewhat understated quality throughout. Opening cut the 'The Seance' has that chiming and hypnotic style of trance induction familiar from most of his other work on Axis, other times venturing into knackered, off-kilter territory as heard on 'Someone Who Feels Things' and at other opportunities exploring similarly unusual time signatures, textures and moods as heard on the mesmerising trilogy 'Three Signs From The Other Side'. More upbeat, groove based experiments you've come to know from Mills (and which will similarly appeal to DJs) can be heard on the majestic 'Questions, Decisions And Consequences' or the typically syncopated rhythms of 'Ganzfeld Experiments'. In a word, magnificent.
Read more
 in stock $26.75
Lost In Space
Lost In Space (audiophile vinyl 12")
Cat: AX 075. Rel: 11 Oct 17
  1. Reflectivity (5:37)
  2. Planets X (5:04)
  3. Exploding Stars (3:30)
  4. Gliese 436B (4:25)
  5. Carbon 14 Plus (4:35)
Review: The Wizard returns with yet another conceptual project steeped in sci-fi on his new LP Lost In Space. Somehow Jeff Mills' constant forays into said aesthetics are always so fascinating. From his reinterpretation of the soundtrack to Fritz Lang's Metropolis at the turn of the millennium, to releases like Time Machine or Man From Tomorrow: this is where we see the techno master at his most creative. The five track release is the first material from Mills' new electronic-classical project, which is a collaboration with Orchestre National Du Capitole De Toulouse. It is not the first time the Detroit artist has worked with an orchestra: back in 2005 he collaborated with Montpellier Philharmonic Orchestra on the Blue Potential LP where they assisted him on covers from his esteemed Axis/Purpose Maker and Underground Resistance back catalogue. The real power of the musicians' contribution can be heard on tracks like "Planets X " which still retain Mill's power of the original, while "Gliese 436B" employs his trademark hypnotic sound.
Read more
 in stock $15.61
Planets (2xCD)
Cat: AXCD 051. Rel: 04 Apr 17
  1. Introduction
  2. Mercury
  3. Loop Transit 1
  4. Venus
  5. Loop Transit 2
  6. Earth
  7. Loop Transit 3
  8. Mars
  9. Loop Transit 4
  10. Jupiter
  11. Loop Transit 5
  12. Saturn
  13. Loop Transit 6
  14. Uranus
  15. Loop Transit 7
  16. Neptune
  17. Loop Transit 8
  18. Pluto
  19. Mercury
  20. Venus
  21. Earth
  22. Mars
  23. Jupiter
  24. Saturn
  25. Uranus
  26. Neptune
  27. Pluto
Review: Even by Jeff Mills' usually grandiose standards, there's something willfully epic about Planets; a hybrid electronic/orchestral score paying tribute to the wonders of the solar system, in a similar vein to Gustav Holst's celebrated Planets suite. It's a dizzyingly grandiose work in concept and execution, with the Detroit legend being joined by a Portuguese orchestra on a set that mixes sweeping movements with atmospheric ambient interludes. The resultant score is utterly beguiling, undeniably intergalactic, jaw-dropping in scale and capable of switching from dramatic intensity to becalmed bliss in the blink of an eye. The project's roots are explored further on disc two, which showcases Mills' original electronic compositions.
Read more
 in stock $27.33
The Override Switch
Cat: AX 104. Rel: 13 Oct 21
  1. Homage (5:18)
  2. The River Runs Five Ways (5:28)
  3. Infinite Voyage (5:57)
  4. Crashing (3:16)
  5. Soul Filter Buffet (3:24)
  6. The Sun King (11:23)
  7. Soul Filter (The Dancer) (4:58)
  8. Trigger Happy (With Safety Off) (4:21)
Review: Electronic icon Jeff Mills links up with fellow Detroit talent Rafael Leafar for this one on his own Axis, and it is yet another sublime exploration of the cosmos through the medium of techno. Leafar brings all his next level multi-instrumentalist skills and strong love of jazz to the duo and when combined with Mills' ability to speak through his machines, it makes for a unique record. The icy percussion rolls deep, taking you into another dimension each and every time while the noodling sax brings sombreness and soul. Big, splashy cymbals, dark chords and a real sense of mystery and intrigue keep you utterly locked throughout.
Read more
 in stock $28.99
When The Time Is Right
Cat: AX 102. Rel: 16 Jul 21
  1. When The Time Is Right (7:08)
  2. When The Time Is Right (Only For The Night) (6:06)
  3. Something Like That (Moody mix) (6:27)
Review: Jeff Mills and the Zanza 21 project have been workmen away on this new one for sometime. It is an accumulation of ideas that take jazz principles and apply them to electronic music, or more specifically the theory that "music is most useful at the point when it touches the soul of the listener, until then, it's just sound." As such Jeff layers up his acoustic and electronic instruments - all of which he plays himself - into star gazing tunes with rich astral melodies and big, bulky grooves that are easy to attach yourself to but hard to forget. This is the first of many releases that are already done and dusted, so keep your eyes peeled for more.
Read more
 in stock $10.88
Artikel 1 bis 6 von 6 auf Seite 1 von 1 anzeigen


Release Date